Gena Showalter

13f7cfd7dd89e9bcf7a90f3de4a42c6d

As some of you may have noticed, I have been reading a lot of Gena Showalter’s books lately. Now, I don’t know about any of you but if I find a series that I really like then I can’t rest until I have read every book in that series so I’ve been hooked on her Lords of the Underworld series. But I’ve come realize that it’s not just because of my need to finish the series that I’ve become borderline obsessed with it. Instead, it’s because of the author, Gena Showalter, and how much I look up to her writing style.

7087ce25145c69ac49ebc04a1325c880

In this series, I have been completely blown away by Gena and how amazing of a writer she is. There are a lot of books in the series and each one focuses on a single Lord and their quest for love, yet, there is a larger plot that covers all the books in the series which ties them all together. It amazes me at how well the series is written and makes me want to aspire to this degree of creativity.

I’ve been reading Gena’s books for about nine or ten years now and I’m excited to read more of her stories. I plan on reading all of her series’ over time as well as catching up on some of my other favorite author’s like Lynsay Sands, Jeaniene Frost, Rebecca Hamilton, Christine Feehan, Kresley Cole, and J.R. Ward, but I just had to take a moment to praise Gena Showalter.

0104b2a6835388849cc188d5569d55ac.jpg

Not only is Gena an amazing author but she’s also very friendly on social media. She responds to fans online and is always so polite that it amazes me that she could very well be considered a celebrity. I follow quite a few of my favorite authors on social media and so far she seems to be the only one who really interacts with her fans. To me that gives her a more real persona than just “an author.” It makes her more likeable which in turn makes me want to buy and read more of her books.

I’ve read a book recently that has a bunch of facts about the Lords of the Underworld series titled The Darkest Facts and in this book is an interview with Gena. I was blown away by the information she revealed in the interview about the series I have come to love. She’s a pantser! She doesn’t like plotting and most of the time just sits down and writes, letting the characters speak to her. This is what I have always done until recently.

I made a post last week about my writing process and I mentioned in it that the story I had started didn’t end up turning out the way I had wanted. I found out, this happened to Gena as well with this series but she kept tweaking it and it became this beautiful masterpiece. It gives me hope. Although I’ve noticed having a little bit of an outline allows me to beat writer’s block so I’m not sure if I’ll give it up but my outlines have become so simple lately, enough outlining to give me point a and point b but then I just make up the points in between.

afaee66c8e113565219d74631ec50e0e.jpg

Gena Showalter is an amazing author and person. I can proudly say that she is a role model of mine and I hope that one day, I can be as creative an author as she is!

Leave a Reply

