1 story, 2 story, 3.

I asked this question on Twitter a little while ago but didn’t receive much of a response and wanted to see what others do or thought. I’m the type of person that loves to multitask. For example, as I am writing this I am also cooking lunch for my day care kids. I just can’t sit still. Even if I sit down to watch TV I tend to be writing or reading and yet still paying attention to the show. (Unless I’m watching Once Upon A Time. Then I tune everything out but the show!)

So it came as no surprise to me that no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t stick to just one story to write. I tried. I really did! I was afraid if I started another that I would forget my first one but instead I have found that it has given me more of a reason to write the first one.

I actually have four I am working on. I just finished the first draft of my first book. I have another that’s barely been started. Another has been outlined and another is in the research phase. I also have about 20 WIPs (works in progress, for me its more like ideas in progress) and they are begging for me to start.

However, I’ve overloaded myself before and I’m afraid of doing it again. Only difference is that this time, I’m more serious about it. I want and need to get my stories told this time and I’m not just writing fan fiction either. (Which I have been doing for over a year.) I never let a story go past another in the different stages until I finish the one already in that stage.

So, my question is this, how many stories do you work on at one time? Are they in different stages of your writing process?

Leave a Reply

