The Chemist By: Stephenie Meyer

The Chemist

By:Stephenie Meyer

5d01b7f1c0cbce97930912040ba40b9a

1 star

This saddens me to write this review. I was really excited about this book. I love Stephenie Meyer and even more so, I love her book, The Host. It was different from Twilight and I admit that I read that series, too, so I was hoping The Chemist would be better than that, too.

The blurb is interesting and had caught my attention. It spoke about a new heroine with a different set of skills, a girl who used to work for the U.S. Government. A girl who has been forced to move around a lot because now she is wanted by her old bosses.

At least that’s what I gathered from the blurb and the first chapter because that’s as far as I got. I couldn’t seem to read much more than that and only one other book has ever done that to me. (To Kill a Mockingbird was the book.) It wasn’t the writing that did it. Stephenie kept her ways and let her words dance across the pages, but the plot didn’t seem to entice me and the character seemed vague.

Maybe it just wasn’t my cup of coffee (wink, wink), since I’m not very into the spy type of books and that’s why I couldn’t get into it. I don’t know, but I wouldn’t recommend this book unless you’re into the spy/detective/on-the-run-from-your-bosses types of books.

Leave a Reply

