The Lovely Bones by: Alice Sebold

The Lovely Bones

By: Alice Sebold

5e8f5b184bf955a1a57973f5298c593b

4 stars

The Lovely Bones follows Susie Salmon as she follows her family and friends after her death. She watches them from Heaven. She watches them deal with her loss, the loss of her mother, and the changing and growing of their lives as they live with her memory. Susie watches them live out the parts of her life that she will never get to experience having been only 14 when she died. Susie doesn’t want to let go of them, living with each of her family members and friends in the moments she longs for but once she does, she finds that it is ok to let go. She thinks of them and watches them still at times but not as often as she use to and they still think of her at times.

This book hit me. I’m not sure if it was a good way or a bad way, but it hit me. I’ve experienced a great loss and this book made me wonder if such an experience really does happen? Could my late husband be watching me as I type this?

It was a great book and beautifully written. I’m not sure this is one that I highly recommend due to me being able to easily walk away from the book for a few days but it is a still a very good read.

Leave a Reply

