Firstlife by: Gena Showalter

Firstlife

By: Gena Showalter

2a432275a5871d73eeb5f4a984fcf6c9

5 stars

I have a thing for Gena Showalter. (Not that kind of thing.  Get your mind out of the gutter.) I read her Alien Huntress series way back when they first came out, so when I seen she had written more books, I knew I had to check them out and I wasn’t disappointed.

Firstlife is about a girl named Tenley Lockwood who lives in a world similar yet very different from outs. There is your firstlife in the Land of Harvest and when you die you either go to Troika or Myriad or Many Ends. The catch? You have to sign with Troika or Myriad to gain entrance or be sent to Many Ends, a horrible realm filled with pain. Tenley is a conduit to Troika or will be when she signs with them which is a major rank amongst them, so they send Archer to win her over to their side. However, Myriad wants control of both realms and send Killian to persuade Tenley to sign with them. Which side will Tenley choose? Troika, where the sun shines brightly and Archer, her friend, is? Or Myriad, the land that promises you everything you may want and where Killian, her love, lives?

I loved this book. I didn’t think I would love it as much as I did but with every turn of the page, I quickly realized I couldn’t stop. I read it cover to cover in 24 hours. (I also realized that I need to stop doing that because it left me empty once I reached the end.) I even went as far as pre-ordering the next book in the series, Lifeblood.

I highly recommend this book. it’s got a bit of everything in it. Friendship, romance, fights, everything. Don’t believe me? Go read it!

Leave a Reply

