Week of 2-20-17

Quote of the week for 2-20-17

0ab3fd5ce0341599721ac06866b7a995

This quote speaks volumes to me. I remember always being into books. It started as reading them but then I realized I could write them, too, which meant I spent many hours writing and reading as I grew up. I remember being 8 or 9 and making a picture book, my first written work, and from there the passion grew. I would take any and all writing classes I could in school and earned a number of awards and contests. In fact, in 8th grade I won a creative writing contest at my school which then went on to the state level where I placed third.

This quote reminds me of something my dad use to say to me as I grew up. Every year I would ask him what he wanted for Christmas and every year he would give me the same answer, “Tools.”

“Why tools? You ask for them every year,” I would respond.

“I’m a mechanic, I can never have enough tools. Just like you. You’re a writer, you can never have enough pens,” was my dad’s response.

Now that I’m older, I realize that when I write it’s what I was meant to do since I was young. I live for those times that I sit down and just write. It could be a novel, a poem, or a book review, it doesn’t matter because I love doing it. I was born to do it.

Leave a Reply

