1984 By: George Orwell

1984

By: George Orwell

1984

4 stars

This book follows a man named Winston Smith who lives in a world that is constantly at war. You live in fear everyday. Fear of the enemy, fear of the party, and fear that you’re own mind will betray you. You can’t truly trust anyone because even your own children will turn you into the Thought Police. No one is allowed to think their own thoughts or have any type of feeling except for love of Big Brother, the protecting, guiding face of the Party, but Winston is different. He remembers things from the past that the Party has altered and then he meets Julia. They fall in love over their hatred for the Party but both of them know it’s just a matter of time until the Thought Police catch up to them, and what happens when they do?

1984 is one of my all time favorite classic books. The mixture of science fiction and real life is intriguing to say the least. It makes you think and makes you wonder could this be real? Could this really take place in the world we live in today?

With the political/world turmoil as of late with the protests and riots going on here in the United States, this book made me wonder if we are truly coming to this setting. Is Big Brother watching me as I write this? How much of our history has been changed to make our nation seem like the world has been out to get us all these years? Is the Thought Police going to come crashing through my door at any moment just to haul me away to the Ministry of love?

So many questions this book arose in me as I read each page. However, the only thing I disliked about this book was the immense wording. Sometimes it was hard to follow the story and I would have to go back and reread the paragraphs again to make sure I was understanding of the points George Orwell was trying to convey. Don’t get me wrong, I love a great play on words but too much of it can get to be overwhelming.

Altogether, I still highly recommend this book. The questions it arose in me sparked an overwhelming desire to open my mind to the world around me and actually sparked the ideas for one of my books. And the plot is very enticing. I mean, who doesn’t find it appealing to break the rules from time to time?

Let me know what you think of the book. Have you read it? What were your thoughts and feelings towards the book?

4 thoughts on “1984 By: George Orwell

  1. I have it sitting on my bookshelf, but I haven’t read it yet! Will do it soon, though 🙂

    Yes, Orwell has written a disturbingly realistic book, to the extent that it may be prophetic! When you consider the current lifestyle, you can’t help but fear that the world may become like Orwell’s vivid, unsettling depiction of a dystopian world.

    Great review! I also happen to write reviews for book, so feel free to check my posts out if you feel like it 🙂

    Will be waiting for your next posts!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem! 😊 Classics are good! I took a World Literature class in college and the classics give an amazing foundation to begin with, whether that be for writing or reading more books! 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

